Papercraft

A card from an auntie who adores her niece

I cannot believe that on the 30th my beloved niece turns 8!  How on earth did that happen?  Last time I looked she was a baby..anyway…

She’s taken after her auntie and loves to create things and is very happen when surrounded by card, paper and glue and loves looking at my things to see what she can have a lend of.  We enjoy our messy times.  I had to create a lovely and unusual card for her and at the time of conceiving the idea for the card I’d received some goodies just released by Leonie Pujol.  What perfect timing.

So here is the card. I tried to take a decent photo but this is the best that I could manage at the time!My base card is a hunky dory 8×8 inch card and I worked from that size to see what I could think of. I cut a 6×6 inch piece of watercolour card.  In the middle of the card I stamped the image of the Rag Doll from one of Leonie Pujol’s stamp sets.  Once it was dry I stamped the star from the same set into the corners of the card and using a simple stamp from the Feathery Flourish stamp I joined the stars making a border to my rag doll.  I also stamped some images from the same set to my card background, just to make it more lively.

I coloured the Rag Doll image in using Spectrum Noir Aquablend Essentials (Pearl White, Alabaster, Champagne, Straw, Cantaloupe, Squash, Coral) and Florals (pink Tulip, Violet, Elderberry, Hyacinth,Damson, Plum).  For the rest of the stamped image I used the Spectrum Noir Sparkle range (Sterling Silver, Onyx Black, Peony, Amethyst, Cosmos, Rose Quartz, Macaroon, Pink Champagne, Solar Red, Hearthside, Red Berry, Pink Apricot, Boudoir, Inspired Violet).

I chose to do something different for the next layer of the card.  I cut a piece of 7×7 inch black card and using my versa mark pad and the Wow Embossing Powder (Metallic Silver) I stamped one of the flower images from Fly Free all around the edge of the card and embossed to make a border.  I had just taken delivery of the Spectrum Noir Metallics pencils and I used them to colour this border.  I went through the entire selection of colours (Silver, Gold, Purple, Pink, Violet, Yellow, Green, Light Blue, Blue, Rose Gold, Mica, Glimmer).  I stamped a few extras on some spare black card and built up some flowers with these for the border.

To try to make the card pop out I used two shades of pink to matt and layer with just a small border of colour.

To finish the card I used the Happy Birthday stamp from the Rag Doll set and embossed that in the silver on the black card, and then used the flowers to enhance the card.

I think this card looks lovely and I can’t wait to give it to her next week as I am sure she will love the colours in it.  I have another one to make this weekend for her from another family member so I now need to think of what I can do with regards to that one.

So thank you for stopping by once again and I look forward to your next visit,

Much love

A

1 thought on “A card from an auntie who adores her niece”

Leave a Reply

