It’s attack the stash time

Sometimes when you are sorting through your crafting stash you find things that have been lost under other.  This is what happened to me this weekend and I decided to use some of it today and see what I could do.

I’m talking shaped card blanks here and the ones I’m going to play with are bobbin shaped and sewing machine shaped, both by Craftwork Cards. I knew I had some embellishments that had been given to me and they would go very well with this theme. I’ve made two cards as I found the shapes quite hard to work with, I say hard as I do like to be quirky. I’m not sure what to do with these cards but that is something to think about.

First up is the bobbin shaped card.

Before I started the card I did cut out a template of the bobbin shape as I would need to hide some “workings” which would show though.

Firstly I used some embroidery threads that I had in my stash and where there was an embossed detail on the card (mimicking the thread), I wound the embroidery thread around this part until I had it covered. As I went along I secured the thread with podge podge.  Once I’d finished this I backed the inside of the card to hold firm the threads and to cover the mess.

i set this aside to dry and used some of the embellishments I’d set aside.  Using my Spectrum Noir pen I coloured in the bobbin and with the Spectrum Noir sparkle I coloured in the scissors. Once the bobbin dried I then put some more thread around this mini bobbin and getting an unused needle from my stash I finished by popping it into the bobbin and securing it with Modge Podge. I then threaded  piece of ribbon though the button embellishment.

i stamped some images from the Stitch in Time stamp set I had in my stash and stuck these to the card with some hot glue. I like this and I am considering sending this to Making Cards Magazine for their Your Cards section.

img_1526

Now the sewing machine card.  The card I made was the third attempt.  I really did not like this card as I felt that I could not do much with it. In the end I decided to score an A4 piece of Adorable  Scoreable to make an A5 card. I found some paper in my stash and mounted that onto black Adoreable Scoreable. I stamped some more images from the Stitch in time stamp set and coloured these in with some of the Natural set of Spectrum Noir Aquablend pencils, then mixing them with a dash of water for a hint of colour. I then mounted them onto the card together with the sewing machine card front.

I’m not sure about this card at all, I am very critical of my work and I can’t decided whether or not this is good enough.

img_1525

Thanks again for stopping by and please stop by again soon

A

3 comments

  1. Isabel · January 14

    I think it looks great as it is! 😀

    Like

  2. Isn't She Crafty · January 17

    I love how different these are; I tend to avoid shaped cards but then really like how other people use them. Your sewing machine card is great, really lets the image pop x

    Like

Leave a Reply

