MIxed Media

Destiny

Today I’m sharing my latest make using a box I bought for £1 in The Works and papers and embellishments from one of my all time favourite collections – Verity Rose by Crafters Companion.  This time I’ve chosen to use papers from Destiny.

So this is the box.  As you can see, pretty basic but an opportunity to decorate any way which you want.

image

Firstly I drew around the base of the box onto the back of my chosen paper and using my pencil labelled which side was which, before I cut them out. Then after making sure they didn’t need any more trimming I applied some modge podge to the box and the paper and put it in place. When gluing anything I always use an old tea towel to smooth thing down as it picks up any residue and let’s me apply some pressure. (All old full of holes tea cloths are kept for me to craft with). I left this to dry before gluing another side.

Once all my sides (including the bottom and the lid) were glued in place I used the coordinating Verity Rose lace to make a trim and bow. At this point I felt that the lid lacked something so where the lid joined the base and exposed the bare MDF I used a Poppy coloured Promarker to gently colour in and give an extra something.

I used the topper packs to make little decoupaged images around 3 sides but on the front I used two of the Verity Rose charms to give it some more dimension.

Looking at the box I felt that the lid needed something so I used a die I’d had free with Crafters Inspiration Issue 7 which was a Sheena Douglass poppy die and I created a simple die using the left over papers. I then finished it off with a dash of the Spectrum Noir Glitter Pen in clear.

And here is the finished result.

image

 

Such a pretty little box and my niece loves it but I’m keeping this to display at a craft fayre and if someone wants it then I’ll sell it.

Thank you for looking at my blog today and I hope you’ll visit again soon.

❤️

A

 

Leave a Reply

