MIxed Media

Catch your dreams

imageHi!  Something a little different from me today and something which I’ve never done before – an MDF tag.  I do like working with MDF and plenty of friends have received gifts which have been constructed from MDF but I’ve never done anything this small and I am pleased with the results.

I received some MDF shapes with a kit from Dreamees (a Create and Craft purchase) and I was immediately drawn to the tag. I investigated the accompanying CD and I printed off a number of the blank flower shapes so that I could test them out and I coloured them in with various shades from the Vintage Spectrum Noir set.

I applied two coats of Paper Artsy Fresco Finish in Snowflake to my tag and whilst these coats were drying I cut out my flowers. Once the paint was dry I stamped two images onto my tag.  The phrase comes from a set by AlteNew called “Thoughts and Reminders”. I then masked that saying and applied my Eiffel Tower image from the Dreamees Pretty in Paris collection and set them aside to dry.  To add some subtle sheen to my tower I applied some clear Spectrum Noir Sparkle.

I chose some ribbon from my stash and made some bows and a hanger for my tag. I applied these and then I added my flowers.  The centres are made up from faux pearls which I cut from jewellery sourced in charity shops, which I then cut off their strings.  They give dimension and I am very pleased with the effect that they have given these flowers and overall I really like the tag which I am keeping for myself and have hanging in my room.

Thank you for stopping by and I look forward to your next visit.

2 thoughts on “Catch your dreams”

Leave a Reply

