30th Birthday card

I was recently asked to make a 30th birthday card for a friend’s sister.  I know she likes crafts so I went with that theme for the card using the skein shaped card from craftwork cards and folded the square shaped box to match the card so that I could embellish the card without it being squashed in the envelopeSAM_2863 I used some spare metallic thread that I had in an unused skein and I wound it around the skein to give the illusion of it being a real skein and then I secured it with some white card cut to the shape.  From there on I built up the design using the embellishments included with the kit.  I stamped Sister using the Sentimentally Yours collection by Phill Martin. I then set this aside to dry whilst I decorated the box.

SAM_2861The box has been decorated using a number of elements from the Fab Fabrics Collection but I decided to make the sewing machine a feature of the card. I used the sewing machine card and mounted it to the top of the box and used a promarker to highlight the features of the sewing machine and a vintage button for the sewing machine wheel.  I stamped a 30 and used more vintage buttons to make the label part of the design.  The whole thing looks very complicated but in reality the card was simple to make, it was just the drying time that was the hard work.

I hope you like this card and will return to read about my next project.

 

Leave a Reply

