Papercraft

Grandpa’s birthday

SAM_2835I was recently asked to make some cards for a birthday and upon enquiring the recipient liked gardening. Hmm lets see what we have left of the Potting Shed paper pad then.

I decided to use the kraft card boxes and decorate the outside with a flowerpot.  I had cards shaped in a flowerpot so I cut one in half and coloured it in to make a more realistic looking flowerpot.  I used a sheet of the Potting Shed paper to cover the top of the box and then mounted the flowerpot.  The flowerpot is actually shaped to give it some dimension so it gives the effect of being a real flowerpot.  I had some flowers which I had left over from another project and I stuck them in the open flowerpot so it  had the illusion of a pot of flowers.  I decorated with a brown ribbon and a birthday sentiment and the age of the recipient.

The card which you see on the right has more of the Potting Shed paper on it and I’ve added another flower with a sentiment and the requested name. The leaves are from a free gift with an order last year and have come in very useful. The stems of the flowers were ordinary BBQ kebab sticks coloured in with a promarker.  I think the whole effect is pretty cool and I know that they were well received on the day.

Here’s what I used in the project:-

Cardstock and box – Craftwork cards

Paper – Craftwork Cards The Potting Shed

Flowers – Craftwork Cards A Year in Flowers – March and April

Promarkers – black, terracotta, forest green, tan

Sentiments – More Than Words alphabet by Craftwork Cards

Happy Birthday Stamp – unknown

Leaves – unknown

BBQ kebab sticks

 

 

Leave a Reply

